Week 2 Summary

What a hectic week that was!  I felt like I was racing against time.  Working in higher education gives you these crazy deadlines and its much like being in school yourself.  On top of that, you have students freaking out because they left business undone until the last part of the semester, don’t have a place to live, don’t know what their summer is going to be like, or they are graduating and have conduct fines to pay off, etc.  Well, it’s over now and I spend the next couple of months closing out the 12-13 school year and preparing my office for the next school year.  On top of that, I am writing an SOP for my position to leave the next person, because I am moving back to Texas in early August to go to law school.

Days 12, 13 and 14 were good.  I was out of town on Saturday and Sunday.  Saturday was hectic, I went to my Weight Watchers meeting, got my tires checked, got gas and came up to load of the car for our derby game in Ann Arbor.  I also prepared by bringing a cooler of drinks and packing at least one meal (which I ended up eating for breakfast on Sunday.) We stopped and I got a salad with meat and drizzled olive oil and lemon juice over it, I ate a bunch of fruit before our game on Saturday night and went out to some fancy bistro and had salmon with a fennel salad and some asparagus with a poached egg.  It was all a very delicious way to celebrate getting an overall MVP award.

Sunday was Mother’s Day and I went out with friends to a seafood restaurant.  I had steak and scallops.  I was the pain in the ass who had to grill the waiter about what they used to cook things and had to send some offensive Parmesan coated vegetables back to the kitchen, but dammit, I’m sticking to this.

After lunch, I went over to Trader Joe’s and picked up some things for the week.  Grocery shopping isn’t challenging, but I’m trying to get rid of the food in my house because I know I’ll be moving in a couple of months, so I’m getting things out of my freezer and building around what I already have.  Also, I always need fresh food, which never goes to waste between me and the baby–who loves all of his fruits and veggies.

So far, so good.  The week was full of turning down celebratory food, watching people’s bad choices and not making any of these my own.  I know that if I want those things that I can have them, but if I really want them, they will all be there after thirty days is over.  No treats, no cheats and no do-overs…

Leave a Reply

